Archive for the ‘SWFL News’ Category:

SWFL 2015 Commitments

SWFL Baseball is proud of our 2015 commitments. They have worked and earned the opportunity to play college baseball on scholarship. Congratulations!

2015 commitments:

Alex Goebel – Santa Fe State
Andrew Mink – Ave Maria U
Brandon Hernandez – Santa Fe State
Chris Berry – U North Florida
CJ Alexander – Ball State U
Cody Spencer – South Florida State
Danny Oberst – Indian River State College
David Dinorcia – Lemoyne U
Donovan Petrey – Florida State U
Garrett Bye – U South Florida
Garrett Zech – U South Florida
Jacob Silverstein – Bethune Cookman
John D’Amelio – Navy
Jordan Spicer – Polk State
Kevin Mitchell – Ave Maria U
Kyle Babb – Ave Maria U
Michael Iantosca – St. Anselm College
Parker McPhail – Belmont Abbey
Shane McClanahan – Charleston Southern
Thaddeus Ward – U Central Florida
Troy Bacon – U of Florida
Tyler Luneke – Brevard College – NC
Zuriel Collins – Charleston Southern

Categories: Front Page, SWFL News

SWFL 17U Grey captures Perfect Game Florida State Championship

img_03511The Southwest Florida Baseball 17U Grey team won the Perfect Game Florida State Championship behind good pitching, situational hitting and a patient approach at the plate. Troy Bacon pitched 6 innings of 1 run baseball, Thaddeus Ward threw 2 scoreless innings and Jose Valmana picked up the win with 1 inning of scoreless relief. Read more

Categories: Front Page, SWFL News

SWFL players commit to colleges

16 players have earned scholarships to play baseball in college. Six Division colleges are represented and along with a strong group of Division 2, NAIA and State of Florida 2 year colleges. Congratulations to the players, parents and the SWFL families.

Here is the complete list of signees:

2014 commitments:

  • Drew Freedman; Gulf Coast HS – Wake Forest U
  • Bobby Brennen; Bishop Verot HS – Maine U
  • Dominic Blanco; Gulf Coast HS – Bethune Cookman
  • Jonah Owenby; Bishop Verot HS – U South Florida
  • Luke Spangler; Cape Coral HS – U of Miami
  • Kyle Kemp; Charlotte HS – Lipscomb U
  • Seth DeHaven; Bishop Verot HS – Tusculum College
  • Alex Hanson; Wharton HS – Eastern Michigan
  • Robert Emerson; Community School – Lake Sumter St
  • Ryan Keegan; Estero HS – Ave Maria U
  • Danny Tufariello; Bishop Verot HS – Tusculum College
  • Kevin Buckley; Tampa King HS – State College of Florida
  • Matt Zino; Gulf Coast HS – State College of Florida
  • Zak Spivy; Gulf Coast HS – Polk State College
  • Andrew Steele; North Port HS – Ave Maria U
  • Andrew Giddens; Lakewood Ranch HS – Ave Maria U
Categories: Front Page, SWFL News

SWFL 16U wins PG Championship

SWFL 16U scored f101ive in the third and went on to beat SF Elite Squad Louisville Slugger 16U. Garrett Zech (2015, Naples, FL) led the offense with three hits including a triple and two RBI’s. Jacob Silverstein (2015, Seminole, FL) pitched in with two singles. Troy Bacon (2015, Sickles, FL) helped out his team with a double and an RBI. Brandon Hernandez (2015, Royal Palm Beach, FL) went 1 for 3 with a double and three RBI’s. Shane McClanahan (2015, Cape Coral, FL) pitched five innings and struck out five. He allowed three hits and walked just one batter. Conor Roe (2015, Gulf Coast, FL) threw the last two innings. He struck out three and allowed just one walk.

Andrew Gotfried (2015, Calvary Christian, FL) led the Slugger’s offense with two singles. Daniel Reyes (2015, Mater Academy, FL) hit a triple in the loss

Categories: Front Page, SWFL News

20 SWFL players sign National Letter of Intents

20 players that played within the SWFL program have signed 2013-2014 National Letters of Intent to play baseball next year in college. These players represent SWFL Fall league players and travel team members. SWFL Baseball congratulates each player!

Congratulations go out to:
Mario Leon – Florida Gulf Coast U
Cole Ondrejka Polk State College
Hayden Platt – U Central Florida
Kam Gellinger – U Central Florida
Sam Granoff – U San Franciso
Sean Labsan – Florida Atlantic
Garrett Anderson – Florida Gulf Coast
Brian Boocock – USC-Upstate
Michael Mann – U South Florida
Danny Lee – State College of Florida
Brennen Rodriguez – Broward College
Blake Wyant – Marion Military
Billy Larrimore – Brevard CC
Tanner Renegar – Polk State
Isaac Struense – Lyon College
Elliot Gonzalez – Palm Beach Atlantic U
Jordan Jackson – Broward College
Justin Goldberg – Palm Beach St
Derek Pandolfi – St Petersburg College
Sean Brady – U Florida

Six 2014’s Commit to D-1 schools:
Jonah Owenby – U South Florida
Luke Spangler – U Miami
Kyle Kemp – U Florida
Bobby Brennen – U Maine
Drew Freedman – Wake Forest U
Seth DeHaven – Tusculum College

2015 Donovan Petry commits to FSU!

SWFL Alum Christopher Barr makes switch; going to U Miami

Categories: Front Page, SWFL News

18 SWFL players head to colleges

Brendon Sanger – Florida Atlantic
Kyle Miller – Florida Atlantic
Luke Maglich – U South Florida
Zach Giczewski – Lander U
Ryan Withstandley – Hillsborough CC
Tyler Selesky – FGCU
Anthony Prohaska – Broward CC
Brian Pietranton – Seminole St
Brendan Long – Indian River St
Christopher Barr – U Miami
Colin Woody – Col of Central Florida
Paul Bretton – Florida Southern
Jake Fossick – U North Florida
Brad Torres – St John’s River St
Charlie Klein – Pasco Hernando CC
Frankie Romano – Stetson U
Broderick Rodocker – SCOFL
Nick Locasio – MIT

Categories: Front Page, SWFL News